Skip navigation

Here is a post about the soon to be failed experiment of providing housing to the homeless in Austin. I love the guy behind this project, believe he wants to do what Jesus wants him to do, and this project is just another example of what we can do when we work together to do kingdom work. The reality of life in America will often provide resistance to those who follow Jesus, but that’s okay. We are not called to seek a life of comfort and safety, but instead to follow in the footsteps of Jesus and sometimes that is an unpleasant, unconventional, and even a dangerous endeavor.  

 

However, when I read about his project and the backlash, I have to ask myself…“Would I want this trailer park in my neighborhood?”  I don’t know how I would answer this question, I don’t have to answer it for now. I would like to say that I would welcome this project to our neighborhood and that I could love them as I love my current neighbors. Honestly, I can’t know what I would do, but I’m willing to struggle with it so that someday when you’re older you are better prepared to make those decisions.

If, and when you are faced with hard questions I want you to be patient with yourselves, to be honest, to truly search what you think is best for you and your family. But, I hope you will weigh these thoughts against what you know is the right thing to do for the other people involved in the situation. Remember, you have been greatly blessed, and to whom much is given, much is required.

Leave a Reply

